Activities‎ > ‎Scouting‎ > ‎

History of the Boy Scouts

Prior to 1958, the program included Cub Scouts (8-10), Boy Scouts (11-18), and three high school units for boys:  Seniors Scouts, Sea Scouts, and Air Scouts.  In the late 1990’s, the Explorers were reorganized into two new groups:  Exploring and Venturing for high school men and women.  Exploring focused on vocational units including high adventure activities.  Venturing focused on interest groups including camping and high adventure.  Shooting sports, service to others, water sports, et. al., can bind these young men and women in individual units where they can achieve the Eagle rank or work toward the Bronze, Silver, and Gold Award (comparable to the Eagle rank).

The Order of the Arrow was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America.  In 1948, OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the Boy Scouts of America.  In 1998, the Order of the Arrow became recognized as Scouting's National Honor Society when it expanded its reach beyond camping to include broader service to Scouting and communities.

Alpha Phi Omega was founded on December 16, 1925, at Lafayette College in Easton, PA, by Frank Reed Horton and 13 other students who were former Boy Scouts and Scouters as a way to continue participating in the ideals of Scouting at the college level. The brothers continue the tradition of leadership, service and friendship.